Nebraska Taxpayers for Freedom has released its annual report on the conservative voting of members of the Nebraska Unicameral during the 2018 session. NTF rates senators based on their fiscal responsibility, intervention into the private lives of Nebraska citizens, and positions on legislation dealing with law and order.

Legislative Rankings 2018 & Watchdog Signup

NTF rates state senators based on the most conservative voting record and the least. NTF tracked 74 bills and resolutions in the 2018 session. Starting at a base of zero, senators received 1.35 credit for each good vote.

In first place were State Senators Lydia Brasch (District 16) and Rob Clements (District 2). Placing second were State Senators Joni Albrecht (District 17) and Steve Halloran (District 33). Placing lowest was State Senator Tony Vargas (District 7).

NTF president Doug Kagan explained that “the executive committee of the Legislature refuses to place all votes of state senators in the official Unicameral Journal, despite the fact that it is paid for by Nebraska taxpayers.

1) if your local newspaper does not publish a news release of our voting record, take a copy to the news editor;
2) take a voting record copy to your state senator’s next town hall meeting and ask him/her to explain his/her votes;
3) make several photocopies of this voting record for your friends and neighbors. They also deserve to know how their state senators vote.

For more information contact:

Doug Kagan
402-551-0921 or 402-881-7109

Good and Bad Bills 2018 Unicameral

Previous post:

Next post: